keyboard chamber symphonic vocal choral
string quartet

Instrumentation: string quartet

Performer: Friction Quartet

i. allegro
ii. litany
iii. intermezzo
iv. scherzo

score .pdf

Performer: One Found Sound

Amethyst is a musical pas de deux. The work features many duets, sections with two contrasting ideas, two larger contrasting sections (marked by different tempi), and an ongoing argument between two key areas (D-major and F-Major). After going back and forth between contrasting sections, the piece finally relaxes in a coda that synthesizes both themes and key areas.

score .pdf
miniatures for flute trio

Instrumentation: two c flutes, one alto flute

Performer: Areon Flutes

i. spacious, freely
ii. andante
iii. with exaggerated articulation, almost silly
iv. solemn
v. restrained
vi. molto espressivo
vii. allegro
viii. spacious, freely

score .pdf

Instrumentation: string quartet

Performed by Girltet: Laurel Lynch, violin; Taryn Arbeiter, violin; Laura Menard, viola; Rachel Wiers, cello

The sultry tangos of two Argentine Composers, Astor Piazzolla and Osvaldo Golijov, served as models for this piece. The Argentine tango is a dance characterized by the tango rhythm (two dotted-quarters followed by a quarter) in 4/4 time. Piazzolla developed this musical form and took it to the concert stage, stamping it with his sweeping melodies and harmonic sequences. Golijov added a 20th century flair, involving extreme chromaticism and extended techniques including slides and unusual bowing effects. I wrote Tango while studying in Paris, a city that has greatly embraced the Argentine tango as well as the rise of modernity in the early 20th century. Tango is a product of these two traditions: I have combined elements of the tango tradition with Stravinsky's dislocated accents and tightly spaced, biting sonorities, resulting in a piece that is both machine-like and steamy. Tango was written in Paris while studying composition with Narcis Bonet at the European American Musical Alliance. It was premiered on the stage of Salle Frank at La Schola Cantorum, Paris.

score .pdf
parts .pdf